top of page

Never Over


As I was scrolling through Twitter one day I saw my good friend Hush pin a tweet simply saying “not done”. Strangely enough, that tweet resonated with me so much at the time because of the situations I was going through. I was so close on giving up on my passions. I never really asked him why he tweeted that, it just stuck with me for a very long time considering it was just something I saw skimming through social media. It was the year 2016 when I stumbled upon that tweet and it was around the time I decided to pursue The Giantz, at the time I was fumbling with the idea of pursuing anything creative and to be honest with you. I was more scared than excited.

The last project I worked on did really well and when it slowly started to fall apart and crash all around me I started to tell myself “never again”. What pushed me through this dark time was the “what-if” that kept hitting the back of my mind along with the small fire still burning inside of me. I knew I had to keep going. Around the time I stumbled upon Hush’s tweet I started to notice other things in my life telling me to continue pursuing my passion like simple TV ads or even small conversations I have with friends. I knew that my decision and my fire to continue to trek on despite what happened before was a decision I was going to stick with. I had this new found way of thinking I engraved into my head - never over.

I thought of how I used to tell myself “never again” and how Hush’s tweet “not done” resonated with me and decided to put a tweet out there myself: “never over”. This tweet was more than a simple blurb out into the internet, it was a message that I hoped would burn a fire in people’s hearts, something that would allow them to tell themselves “never over”. I didn’t want to give up and that inspired me to never let anyone else give up either, from then on I made it a point for myself and the brand to be able to remind everyone that YOU ARE NEVER OVER.

Many times when we fall and get hurt we quickly tell ourselves “ouch that hurt, I’m not doing that again”. That in turn, creates this stigma for us to never reenact things that hurt because it will ALWAYS lead to failure. This way of thinking is so wrong! If you’ve ever played a sport you should know better than anyone that just because you get tackled down, the ball hits your face, or you fell into the dirt doesn’t mean you quit it literally is a part of learning. It doesn’t mean for sports either, for anything you try in life you are BOUND to fail because those failures teach you lessons that will evolve into victories.

Just because you fell down doesn’t mean you can’t get back up. Just because it hurts doesn’t mean that you won’t be able to do it. People need to realize that failure DOES NOT equal defeat and that there is grace within failure. I think the culture we have now is what has programmed us. The mentality of thinking that falling down here and there equals weakness or defeat. Our parents and society has programmed into us that if it isn’t successful within a month then it’s bust, this has allowed ourselves to be open to being blocked off from our path of really getting ourselves indulged into getting better!

When it comes to creativity, a lot of people are scared of taking risks because they’re scared to fall here and there so rather than being open to change they stick with what’s “safe”. Well security doesn’t mean you’ll change, to be honest being secure could also mean being in the same spot FOREVER. We cannot allow ourselves to hold onto failure or be held back by it! IF you fall get back, because you are NEVER OVER. The job is not done.

This blog and this upcoming design goes out to all of our supporters who has held onto us despite the long hiatus in merchandise and movement! This is dedicated to those who never thought we were done! And especially to those who though we were. This is dedicated to everyone who has their own bumps, bruises, and scars and CONTINUE to walk forward. This is dedicated to the people who know that even if you are down, you are NEVER OVER.

bottom of page